Dr. A. Senthil Kumar(Director, CSSTEAP)

Dr. A. Senthil Kumar(Director, CSSTEAP)

Centre for Space Science and Technology Education in Asia and the Pacific

Dr. A. Senthil Kumar obtained his M.Sc. (Engg.) and Ph.D. from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in the field of Image Processing in 1985 and 1990 respectively. He worked as consultant and post-doctoral fellow at the Raman Research Institute, Bangalore. He joined ISRO (SAC), Ahmedabad, wherein he was involved in IRS electro-optical sensor characterization, gain selection, radiometric data processing, data fusion, and in soft-computing applications in Remote Sensing. On transfer, he moved to National Remote Sensing Center at Hyderabad in 2002, wherein he was responsible for Quality Assurance of IRS User Products. As focal point for NRSC calibration-validation (Cal-Val) activities, he has established ISRO’s first Radiometric Calibration Site development at Shadnagar, Hyderabad. As ISRO’s Work Group member of CEOS-Cal-Val, he was instrumental for validation of data quality parameters of IRS products by CEOS Cal-Val teams for International acceptance. He served as Deputy Director in Chandrayaan-1 Mission and as a co-principal investigator for Moon Mineral Mapper (M-cube) developed by NASA. He has contributed to realization of many land surface geophysical products with IRS sensors data. He has been involved in ground segment of IRS Missions and contributed in various capacity.

He held the post of Director, Indian Institute of Remote Sensing, ISRO, Govt. of India for three years from February 23, 2015 till March 31, 2018 and guided faculty to conduct advance topic courses and enhance outreach programs of IIRS. Since December 2015, he has been the Director of CSSTEAP.

He has published about 130 scientific papers in peer-reviewed International, national Journals and conferences, and many ISRO technical reports in the areas of image processing and remote sensing. He is a co-editor of a recent book on “Remote Sensing of Northwest Himalayas” by Springer in 2019.

He presently holds the responsibility as President of ISPRS Technical Commission-V on Education and Outreach. He was the past Chair of CEOS Working Group on Capacity Building and Data Democracy. He is a recipient of prestigious Professor Satish Dhawan Award for 2015 from ISRS and ISRO team excellent awards for his contributions in Chandrayaan-1 and in establishment of multi-sensor Calibration site. He is a life member of the Indian Society of Remote Sensing and the Indian Society of Geomatics.